Who We Are

Founded in 1988, the Friends of the Port O’Connor Library, Inc. is a non-profit service organization dedicated to enhancing library facilities, services and resources and encouraging donations, gifts, endowments and bequests to the Port O’Connor Branch of the Calhoun County Public Library. Friends is governed by a Board of Directors, assisted by an Advisory Board of Directors and a Student Advisory Board and supported by many members, sponsors and benefactors.

Our Mission

To stimulate increased public usage of the library among all segments of our population, thus enriching the lives of the community of Port O’Connor, Texas and its visitors.


Friends activities include fundraising to support building and construction projects; collaborate with the local schools and community groups on special projects and events; secure materials that are beyond the ordinary budget of the library; recruiting volunteers to supplement paid staff  and for staffing special events or programs at the library. We welcome all who share our goals and vision to become a member.

2017 -2018 Officers

Ursula Price, President

As a world traveler and hiker one of my favorite books is Undaunted Courage: Merriwether Lewis, Thomas Jefferson and the Opening of the American West. Libraries and books are my inspiration and connection to the world, and wherever I travel I always visit the local library.

Judy Whitworth

Judy Whitworth, Vice President

As an avid reader and lifelong supporter of children and literacy efforts, I believe that no one can consider themselves fully educated unless they have read Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry.


Michelle Lippold, Treasurer

The journey of a lifetime starts with the turning of a page.  Looking forward to the next journey with Friends of the Port O’Connor Library and touching many life’s for lifetimes to come.


 Brigid Berger, Secretary

I struggled with dyslexia from a young age and still find it difficult to read. The only way I made it through college and a masters degree was by going to the library. To me, libraries are not only refuges but they are also portals to other worlds of possibilities.

Vera Wiatt

 Vera Wiatt, Representative Calhoun County Library Board

My favorite book, “The Good Earth” by Pearl S. Buck, created a fascination and appreciation of foreign cultures and opened up my

mind and the world as it explored the issues of women’s rights, the importance of family, and the difficulty of clinging to spiritual values when faced with persecution and violence … topics that are never outdated.

Board of Directors

Brigid Berger
Mary Ann Claiborne
Kathy Hoskins
Michelle Lippold
Lynn Luster
Joanie Morgan
Linda Orrick
Ursula Price
Pam Ray
Judy Whitworth
Joe Wiatt

Advisory Council

Nan Burnett
Noemi Cruz
Amber Ferrell
Charlotte Fitzgerald
Carol Fox
Debbie & George Ganem
Teresa Gonzales
Alane Haardt
Marie Hawes
Sheryl Haynes
Jim Hooper
Lisa & David Jenkins
Sherri Judice
Bernie Klein
Donnie Klesel
Barbara Lack
Jane Lane
Kimberley & David Mason
Anne Monnig
Elosia Newsome
Roxanne Ochoa
La June Pitoniyak
Judge Nancy Pomykal
Dawn Ragusin
Vidal Ramirez
Susan Raybon
Alyssa Rhoads
Joyce Rhyne
Iris Schuh
Jean Taylor
Bill Tigrett
Jo Ann Ward